You are here

Full name:Shared Standards for Open Data and Public Sector Information
Number:FP7 621012
Start date:2014. 01. 02.
End date:2016. 31. 07.
  • ERCIM/W3C, France
  • Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers, Belgium
  • Institute Mihajlo Pupin, Serbia
  • MTA SZTAKI, Hungary
  • Forum Virium Helsinki, Finland
  • DIFI, Agency of Public Management and eGovernment, Norway
  • University of Economics in Prague, Czech Republic
  • Ministry of Finance, Finland
  • University of Zagreb, Croatia
  • Malta Information Technology Agency, Malta
  • Ministry of Finance, Slovakia
  • University of the Aegean, Greece
  • Ministry of Finances and Public Administrations, Spain
  • Institute of Mathematics and Computer Science, Latvia
  • Agency for the Public Services Reforms, Portugal
  • Agenzia per l'Italia Digitale, Italy
  • Danube University Krems, Austria
  • CTIC Technology Centre, Spain
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Peter Krantz AB, Sweden
  • Fraunhofer, Germany
  • Digital Birmingham, UK
  • Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • The Open Knowledge Foundation, UK
  • Estonian Information Systems Authority, Estonia
  • ]init[, Germany
  • PSI Alliance, Belgium
  • The Scottish Government, UK
  • The Open Data Institute, UK
  • West University of Timisoara, Romania
  • The Hellenic Ministry of Administrative Reform and E-governance, Greece
  • The National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland
  • The Open Group, Belgium
  • University of La Laguna, Spain
  • AMI Consult, Luxembourg
  • The Open Geospatial Consortium, UK
  • Co-ordination Cell Flemish e-Government, Belgium
  • UAB Linked Data, Lithuania
  • Slovenian Ministry of the Interior and Public Administration, Slovenia
  • Federal Chancellery, Austria
  • iMINDS, Belgium
  • National Research University Higher School of Economics, Russia
Project homepage:
Coordinator:László Kovács

The objective of the Share-PSI 2.0 Thematic Network is to bring together a very broad range of stakeholders in the re-use of public sector information and to help them reach consensus on technical standards, complementing existing and ongoing initiatives in the domain. The network will focus particularly on implementing the new PSI Directive and includes government agencies and ministries from a variety of member states as well as standards bodies, academic institutions, commercial companies working in the field and organisations that effectively interface between government and citizens using open data as the medium. The network will identify the most appropriate standards to be used in the publication of open data, highlight the need for further standards work, and share experiences of using those standards.

Led by the W3C, the consortium includes the Open Group Foundation and Open Geospatial Consortium as fellow standards bodies plus the PSI Alliance, Open Knowledge Foundation, Open Data Institute and PwC as the primary contractor in the ISA Programme’s work on interoperability. Each of these represents a community with an interest in standards for commerce. Partners include 15 government ministries or agencies with direct responsibility for defining and implementing an open data strategy. Together with 21 academic bodies and SMEs with a direct role in advising and implementing the PSI Directive, the consortium represents a total of 25 countries plus Russia.

The output of the network will be a set of best practices developed by the key players across Europe and beyond. In almost every European country, a local version of the best practices will be available that acts as a guide for how to implement those practices within those countries. Overall the impact will therefore be the promotion and publication of a greater volume of more highly re-usable open data across Europe.